Scandal at the Cross
Fig Tree Christian
3.0.0 12.0mb

Many churches, all over the world, follow something called a liturgical calendar. This calendar has seasons, but these seasons are not based on weather. Liturgical seasons are based on events. In the Christian Liturgical calendar some of the big seasons are Advent, Lent and Easter. The first season in the Liturgical Calendar was Advent. Advent is the preparation for the birth of Christ, which is the second season: Christmas. Lent follows Christmas, after a few weeks of ordinary time. (Ordinary time is a time where there isn’t a season, but there are still scriptures to keep our minds and hearts on God.)

Lent, in Latin, literally means “spring time.” It is named because of the time of year it happens. Like advent, it is a time of preparation. It begins Ash Wednesday and lasts 40 day (Sundays excluded) leading up to Easter. Many Christians choose to give something up for Lent. Some give up caffeine, chocolate, or a bad habit. Others follow a more traditional approach and fast during the Lenten season. They give up most meat, with the exception of fish. No matter what you choose to do, it is a time of preparation. Do something that prepares your heart, mind, and body for the risen Christ at Easter.

Scandal at the Cross has been created to help the reader delve deeper into scripture. With the help of nine spiritual writers, each devotion includes a scripture, a link to a longer scripture, a short devotion and a prayer.

Content rating: UnratedWarning – content has not yet been rated. Unrated apps may potentially contain content appropriate for mature audiences only.

Requires OS: 2.3.3 and up

...more ...less