Louisa May Alcott Books
1.3.0 Varies with device
Louisa May Alcott (November 29, 1832 – March 6, 1888) was an American novelist and poet best known as the author of the novel Little Women (1868) and its sequels Little Men (1871) and Jo's Boys (1886). Raised by her transcendentalist parents, Abigail May and Amos Bronson Alcott in New England, she grew up among many of the well-known intellectuals of the day such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry David Thoreau. Nevertheless, her family suffered severe financial difficulties and Alcott worked to help support the family from an early age. She began to receive critical success for her writing in the 1860s. Early in her career, she sometimes used the pen name A. M. Barnard and under it wrote novels for young adults. Published in 1868, Little Women is set in the Alcott family home, Orchard House, in Concord, Massachusetts and is loosely based on Alcott's childhood experiences with her three sisters. The novel was very well received and is still a popular children's novel today, filmed several times. Alcott was an abolitionist and a feminist and remained unmarried throughout her life. She died in Boston on March 6, 1888. Henry James called her "The novelist of children... the Thackeray, the Trollope, of the nursery and the schoolroom." This application contains the following books: A Garland for Girls, A Modern Cinderella; Or, The Little Old Shoe, and Other Stories, An Old-Fashioned Girl, Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag, Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag VI / An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving, Etc., Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag, Vol. 5 / Jimmy's Cruise in the Pinafore, Etc., Behind a Mask; or, a Woman's Power, Comic Tragedies / Written by 'Jo' and 'Meg' and Acted by The 'Little Women', Eight Cousins, Eight Cousins; Or, The Aunt-Hill, Flower Fables, Hospital Sketches, Jack and Jill, Jo's Boys, Kitty's Class Day and Other Stories, Little Men, Little Women, Louisa May Alcott : Her Life, Letters, and Journals, Lulu's Library, Volume III (of 3), Lulu's Library, Volume II (of 3), Lulu's Library, Volume I (of 3), Marjorie's Three Gifts, May Flowers, Moods, Mountain-Laurel and Maidenhair, On Picket Duty, and Other Tales, Pauline's Passion and Punishment, Rose in Bloom / A Sequel to "Eight Cousins", Rose in Bloom / A Sequel to 'Eight Cousins', Shawl-Straps / A Second Series of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag, Silver Pitchers: and Independence, a Centennial Love Story, Spinning-Wheel Stories, The Abbot's Ghost, or Maurice Treherne's Temptation: A Christmas Story, The Candy Country, The Louisa Alcott Reader: a Supplementary Reader for the Fourth Year of School, The Mysterious Key and What It Opened, Three Unpublished Poems and Under the Lilacs.

Content rating: Everyone

Requires OS: 4.0.3 and up

...more ...less