The Karnataka Cashew Manufacturers Association (KCMA) was established in 1955 under the Indian Companies Act, VII of 1913, by seven members then, with the object of promoting the Cashew Industry in Karnataka. Since its inception, the Association has grown many folds to reach the current membership of over 120 members in the districts of Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Uttar Kannada and Kasargod. The unity of the members of the Industry has made the association gain its acceptance in the state as well as in the national scenario..

The quality processing concept adopted by our industries has yielded rich dividends and "MANGALORE CASHEWS" are now preferred world over. In the recent years, many of our members have also been honoured and awarded by the state and Central Governments for production, processing and various other related activities.

The association has been active in dissemination of information to all the members on various aspects connected with the cashew industry. It tries to effectively take up the issues affecting its members with the concerned authorities and provide the necessary relief. It also through its programs tries to educate its members on various aspects of the cashew trade. We have also been able to interact with the different departments of the State and Central Governments whereby desired results have been achieved.

In the last 60 years, there has been a lot of change in the business and economical environment of our region, to which our industries have contributed a lot. With over 450 units directly employing more than 60,000 workers, 95% of whom are women from the weaker sections of the society. This has improved the living standards of the rural population of the area, elevating the socio-economic status of this rural belt.

Mr. J.N.A. Hobbs was the founder President of the Association in the year 1955 followed by 13 Presidents to date who include Mizar Govinda Pai, Rem Fernandes, Mizar Sadananda Pai, Bola Ramanath Kamath, G. Giridhar Prabhu, Walter D'souza, M. Madhavaraya Prabhu, M. Yeshwanth Pai, Muralidhar V. Prabhu and Kalbavi Prakash Rao, Gopalkrishana Kamath, Kiran Kumar Kodgi, K Sudhakara Kamath and B Rahul Kamath at present day

Content rating: Everyone

Requires OS: 2.2 and up

...more ...less